Log in

H. D. Landahl Mathematical Biophysics Award

Herbert D. Landahl became the second President of the Society for Mathematical Biology in 1981. He was a pioneer in the field of mathematical biology and became the first doctoral student in Nicolas Rashevsky’s mathematical biology program at the University of Chicago. He was a professor at the University of Chicago until 1967, and then joined the University of California, San Francisco until his retirement.

The award has two versions, graduate student and postdoctoral fellow, each given every four years. The H. D. Landahl Mathematical Biophysics Award will recognize the scientific contributions made by a graduate student or postdoctoral fellow who is making exceptional scientific contributions to mathematical biology.

The award recipient will receive a cash award of $500 and a certificate at the award ceremony in the Annual Meeting of the Society. The will also receive an invitation to attend to the Annual Meeting of the Society.

Recipients of H. D. Landahl Award in Mathematical Biophysics

2023 – Chengyue Wu, UT Austin (postdoctoral fellow)
2021 – Benjamin Walker, University of Oxford (graduate student)
2019 – Francis G. Woodhouse, University of Cambridge (postdoctoral fellow)
2017 – Elisabeth G. Rens, Leiden University (graduate student)

© 2023 - Society for Mathematical Biology | Site by
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software