As the Society for mathematical Biology continues to grow, the Society’s subgroups allow members to meet and interact within more focused areas in smaller groups at the annual meeting. Subgroups hold scientific symposia and business meetings each year at the Annual Meeting. Membership to the Society’s subgroups is open to all members. New subgroups may be formed by petition to the Board of Directors at any time. The Society’s subgroups will receive support to partially sponsor speakers’ participation in the subgroup symposia at the Annual Meeting.

Upon petition by at least 30 regular members, the Board of Directors may form a Group of members charged with the advancement and dissemination of knowledge of a specific area of mathematical biology within the Society. Accompanying the petition shall be the bylaws of the proposed Group.

The senior officer of the Group shall be elected by the members constituting the Group and will be known as the Group Chair. This chair shall report the activities and needs of the Group to the Board of Directors. On a yearly basis, the Board of Directors will consider termination of any group not maintaining 30 regular members or not presenting a scientific program at the Annual Meeting.

Current Subgroups

Developmental Biology (Chairs: Ruth E. Baker and Alexander Fletcher)

Education (Chairs: Will Heuett and Carrie Diaz Eaton)

Immunobiology and Infection (Chairs: Judy Day, Amber Smith, Jessica Conway, and Angela Reynolds)

Mathematical Epidemiology (Chairs: David J.D. Earn, Jonathan Dushoff)

Mathematics Neuroscience (Chairs: Horacio G. Rotstein and Stephen Coombes)

Population Dynamics, Ecology & Evolution (Chairs: R. Stephen Cantrell, James Watmough)

Comments are closed