2021 SMB Awards

The Society for Mathematical Biology is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2021 Society Awards. These individuals will be honored at the 2021 Annual Meeting of the Society for Mathematical Biology.

Leah Edelstein-Keshet, University of British Columbia, will receive the Arthur T. Winfree Prize for her outstanding contributions to many areas of biology. First, she provided breakthroughs in our understanding of collective spatial organization of biological organisms and of cytoskeletal dynamics and cell motility. Second, she has made huge advancements in our understanding on the topics of aggregation and alignment in biological groups, from polymers in cell cytoskeleton, to cells, to groups of insects, birds and fish. In addition, her book has educated most of the mathematical biologists in the world today.

Anna Mummert, Marshall University, will receive the Distinguished Service Award for her extraordinary service to the Society for Mathematical Biology by establishing, developing and maintaining the Society for Mathematical Biology finances over the past four years. She has also supported the society in a number of ways including attendance at meetings and on committees.

Carrie Diaz Eaton, Bates College, will be the recipient of the John Jungck Prize for Excellence in Education based on her extensive work in Math Biology including, but not limited to, her creation of QUBES, exceptional mentoring of students and trainees, use of undergraduates in research, and co-editing of a book on education in math biology.

Jennifer Flegg, University of Melbourne, will be the recipient of the Leah Edelstein-Keshet Prize for her work focused on wound healing and venous ulcers and to the field of malaria modeling.

Michael Savageau, UC Davis, will receive the Akira Okubo Prize for being a true pioneer, visionary, enabler, teacher and superb mentor in the development and application of innovative theory in biology for over fifty years. He has been instrumental in persistently shaping what is now being recognized as the emerging and crucially important field of systems biology. Since the late 1960s he has been creating and proposing innovative conceptual ideas, methods, and entirely new theoretical structures for approaching the overwhelming complexity of biological systems. Along the way, he laid the foundation for modern ways of thinking about biology that, until recently, were only appreciated by the most progressive of leaders in the area, but are now in the process of moving to the center stage of biology in the form of systems biology.

Benjamin Walker, University of Oxford, will be the recipient of the H. D. Landahl Mathematical Biophysics Award for his outstanding contributions modeling flagella and Leishmania and numerical analysis of swimming and his future as a bright leader in the field.

Alexander Anderson, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute, Helen Byrne, University of Oxford, and Heiko Enderling, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute, will be named Fellows of the Society for Mathematical Biology.

Comments are closed.