H. D. Landahl Mathematical Biophysics Award

Herbert D. Landahl became the second President of the Society for Mathematical Biology in 1981. He was a pioneer in the field of mathematical biology and became the first doctoral student in Nicolas Rashevsky’s mathematical biology program at the University of Chicago. He was a professor at the University of Chicago until 1967, and then joined the University of California, San Francisco until his retirement.

The award has two versions, graduate student and postdoctoral fellow, each given every four years. The H. D. Landahl Mathematical Biophysics Award will recognize the scientific contributions made by a graduate student or postdoctoral fellow who is making exceptional scientific contributions to mathematical biology.

The award is acknowledged with a certificate, and a cash prize of USD $500. The award recipient will receive a certificate at the Society for Mathematical Biology Awards Ceremony, and an invitation to attend to the Annual Meeting of the Society.

Recipients of H. D. Landahl Award in Mathematical Biophysics
2017 – Elisabeth G. Rens, Leiden University Mathematical Institute (graduate student)

Comments are closed.