2016 Segel Prize

The Segel prize recognizes outstanding research in the field of mathematical biology that has been published in the Bulletin of Mathematical Biology.  The prize was established in memory of Lee A. Segel, who made great contributions to the Bulletin of Mathematical Biology and the field of mathematical biology as a whole. It is awarded every two years under two categories:  Best Paper and Best Student Paper.

The Society for Mathematical Biology is pleased to announce the 2016 Segel Prize Winners:

Best Paper:

Alan J. McKane, Tommaso Biancalani and Tim Rogers. Stochastic pattern formation and spontaneous polarisation: The linear noise approximation and beyond. Bull Math Biol (2014) 76:895-921. DOI 10.1007/s11538-013-9827-4.

Best Student Paper (shared prize):

Jake P. Taylor-King, E. Emiel van Loon, Gabriel Rosser and S. Jon Chapman. From birds to bacteria: Generalised velocity jump processes with resting states, Bull Math Biol (2015) 77:1213-1236. DOI 10.1007/s11538-015-0083-7.

Hayley C. Warsinske, Shanna L. Ashley, Jennifer J. Linderman, Bethany B. Moore and Denise E. Kirschner. Identifying mechanisms of homeostatic signaling in fibroblast differentiation, Bull Math Biol (2015) 77:1556-1582. DOI 10.1007/s11538-015-0096-2.

The winners will present their work on July 11th at the 2016 joint meeting of the European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology and the Society for Mathematical Biology.


Comments are closed.